Week 17: BLT Pizza

What says summer more than a BLT sandwich? Although the weather has certainly taken a turn for the Fall this week, I wanted to make one more pizza that captured summer’s simplicity (and tomatoes..yum!)

For the sauce, I mixed 1/4 cup of fat free mayo with 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard. I then threw some dried basil, garlic and onion powder in, as well as a tablespoon of olive oil. This was just enough sauce to provide a light layer of flavor! I cooked three pieces of turkey bacon in the oven and cut up two heirloom tomatoes (these are the best tomatoes).

IMG_0062

IMG_0063

I added a light layer of sharp cheddar cheese. Then I topped the pizza with some mixed lettuce, a light layer of parmesan and some salt and pepper. I baked the pizza for 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

IMG_0067The lettuce got a little crispy, which sort of weirds me out. It was definitely messy, especially because the tomatoes were quite juicy. The sauce made the pizza, in my opinion. Overall, I liked this little BLT experiment. Pretty easy, and if you want even more flavor, you can use real bacon! If I made this again, I would consider adding the lettuce on top after cooking. I hope these last summer days treat you well. I’m ready for the cozy flavors of fall!

IMG_0070

Pizza and blessings,

Sarah

Leave a comment