Week 13: Basil and Prosciutto Pizza

This weeks pizza is as easy as your standard pepperoni pizza. In fact, pepperoni pizza was the inspiration! I’ve always had a bit of a love/hate relationship with prosciutto. Bad prosciutto is BAD. Too salty, too raw tasting for me. I actually hate it when prosciutto is wrapped around cantaloupe. But, thankfully, Whole Foods sells some really fantastic prosciutto. It’s 24.99 a pound … so a little goes a long way!

I used another pre-made pizza dough from Whole Foods. Maybe I will tackle crust next week. I poked holes all over the crust with a fork after I had it stretched out… I’ve learned that this helps keep the dough from rising too much. Great for creating a thin crust pizza.

IMG_0034

 

IMG_0036

I put my oven to 450 degrees and let the pizza cook for a solid 14 minutes. I only topped it with the sauce and mozzarella cheese for cooking. Prosciutto dries out quite quickly … and the last thing I wanted was to ruin my good prosciutto. I also held off on the basil until the pizza finished cooking.

IMG_0038

This pizza was quite simple and tasty. The prosciutto was delicate, tasty, and not too salty. And of course, you can’t beat fresh basil. The spin on the classic pepperoni pizza is a nice, light way to switch up your pizza routine!

Pizza and blessings,

Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

