Week 15: Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

Between two jobs and a final exam, I’ve been absent from the pizza world for a bit. As summer winds down, I find myself craving ballpark type food … and of course, drinking a beer with it. So, this week’s pizza is inspired by a favorite of mine … grilled Italian sausage and pepper pizza.

I still laugh about the George Foreman grill, but I have to admit that little thing is a workhorse, and does a good job of capturing some of the grilled flavor I sometimes crave. I grilled the spicy Italian sausage first, getting it nice and brown on the outside, but not quite finished on the inside. Then I sliced the peppers very thin and grilled them in the leftover juices from the sausage. I used red and yellow peppers because they are both a little sweeter and balanced the spice of the Italian sausage well.

IMG_0047_2 IMG_0048_2

I used my favorite crust and sauce from Whole Foods, threw the cut up sausage and peppers on, and topped everything off with a combination of mozzarella and parmesan. I cooked it for 18 minutes at 425 degrees. The end results were delightful. Very simple, but still summery, capturing just the right amount of “grilled” flavor that I wanted. If you happen to have an actual grill not marketed by a boxer, you could try grilling the pizza yourself. That would be quite tasty.

IMG_0050_2

Thanks for sticking with me on this blogging adventure. I promise to get back in the swing of things!

IMG_0051_2

Pizza and blessings,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

