Week 12: Caramelized Onion and Balsamic Mushroom Pizza

When I was initially constructing this pizza in my head, I was just going to throw some onions on it raw. But then I thought about the combo of caramelized onions and balsamic marinated mushrooms … heaven. So, I decided to conquer the thorn in my side and try caramelizing onions once again. But first, I put the mushrooms in a container with balsamic vinegar and some olive oil to marinate for an hour. Next, I chopped up one red onion and threw it in with about a half stick of melted butter.

IMG_0033

This was my problem last time … In the name of health, I tried (and failed, twice) to caramelize onions in olive oil. This does not work. So, I sacrificed health with this pizza in the name of flavor. And it was worth it. I kept the onions on low, turning them occasionally, for about an hour. They turned out beautifully with just the flavor I was looking for. I also threw my balsamic marinated mushrooms in a pan with some fresh chopped garlic and let it cook up until the liquid was nearly gone.

IMG_0032

I opted for another store bought crust (can you tell I don’t like making crusts?) and threw some baby spinach on top. Next, I mixed the onions and mushrooms together and poured everything over the spinach. There was just enough balsamic to make a sort of sauce for the pizza. Is your mouth watering yet? Finally I topped it all off with shredded mozzarella and shredded parmesan. I cooked the pizza at 450 degrees for ten minutes.

IMG_0031

The final results? Fantastic. This is one of my favorite pizzas so far. It required a good deal of effort, with all of the cooking beforehand. But the combo of caramelized onions and balsamic mushrooms was simply decadent. The flavors melded together perfectly. If I had a grill, this would be a great pizza for it. But alas, the stove worked just fine, too. Caramelized onions, consider yourself conquered.

IMG_0029

IMG_0028

Pizza and blessings,

Sarah

2 responses to “Week 12: Caramelized Onion and Balsamic Mushroom Pizza

Leave a Reply

