Week 9: Vegan Italian Sausage and Portobello Mushroom Pizza

After last weeks super easy pizza, I decided it was time for a challenge. A vegan, mushroomy challenge. I’m not a practicing vegan, but my absolute favorite cookbook (which happens to be vegan) is “Isa Does It” . Plus, while I enjoy working with cheese almost daily, I find myself easily tired of it and try to limit my cheese and dairy consumption outside of work. So, this week I tackled a 100% vegan Italian sausage and portobello mushroom pizza.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetI picked up two large portobello mushroom caps . . . Think of this as an individual pizza. I washed them and cut the excess stem off. Then I brushed the entire mushroom cap in olive oil. I have a wonderful Tuscan herb flavored olive oil that added just the right amount of Italian flavor to this recipe. Bonus. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetAfter brushing the mushrooms in olive oil, I made two little circles out of foil for the mushrooms to sit on. This keeps the mushrooms from cooking in their own juice, which keeps them from getting way to soggy. I may call these alien pizzas.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetNext, I added my toppings: 100% vegan sauce from Traitor Joe’s, a sweet yellow pepper, some Tofurky Italian Sausage, and finally … vegan cheese. Dun dun dun. I used Gourmet Veggie’s Vegan Mozzarella Shreds. Pretty weird consistency, yet I didn’t mind the flavor. I put these puppies in to bake at 375 for about 25 minutes. Once they finished cooking, I used what I learned last week about fresh basil and topped the pizzas at the very end. There was lots of mushroom juice running everywhere, as you will notice in the photo.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetVegan cheese doesn’t really melt . . . it just sort of gets crispy on the outside and somewhat creamy on the inside. If you are picky about your textures, this pizza probably isn’t for you. But it’s a fantastic low carb option. I personally love portobello mushrooms and I thought it made for a tasty, unique crust. The Tofurky sausage also isn’t for the faint of heart, but if you don’t think about it too much, it’s definitely edible. I enjoyed this experiment very much. You can always start with a portobello base and go from there too, if you don’t want to venture too much into the vegan world. I only ate one and re-heated the second one for lunch today. I was pleasantly surprised by how well it re-heated.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetBut, I personally encourage you to be adventurous and give it a shot. There’s always delivery if you hate it.

Pizza and blessings,

Sarah

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

