Week 8: Margherita Pizza

Easy as pie . . . pizza pie.

That’s the margherita pizza. If you don’t think that cooking is your skill and that fancy homemade pizza can’t be yours, I promise, this one can. This is a classic Italian style pizza where less is more. All you need:

  • pizza crust
  • pesto
  • fresh mozzarella
  • fresh tomatoes
  • fresh basil

Image

ImageIn fact, if you want to make it even easier, you can eliminate the pesto and just use olive oil as the sauce. But I personally like the extra flavor of the pesto. Additionally, I prefer to use fresh mozzarella that I can cut, rather than pre-shredded, especially in this case. The mozzarella will melt easily and tastes excellent. The one thing I would do differently is put the fresh basil leaves on once the pizza has finished cooking. They got a little too dry in the oven.

Image

Image

This pizza is a lovely way to ring in the summer and enjoy a refreshing, simple evening. It’s one of my favorite “go-to” pizzas and it can be one of yours, too.

ImagePizza and blessings,

Sarah

 

Leave a comment