Week 3: Greek Pizza with Feta and Tzatziki Sauce

Right after graduation last year, I worked a stint at The Parthenon, a family owned Greek restaurant in town. Greek food will always hold a special place in my heart … I love the flavors of Greek cuisine; from the cool and refreshing tzatziki, to salty kalamata olives and feta cheese. This week, my pizza is inspired by those flavors.

20140403-081327.jpg

I’m housesitting, which means I get to use fancy tools that only well-established adults have. This includes a rolling pin, a super slick cheese grater, a pizza stone (gasp!) and these two for cooking pals (look at her snark).

20140403-081403.jpgFor the first time since Whole Foods opened, I went and shopped at Traitor Joe’s (calling it that on principle). I’ve always been a fan of their pre-made pizza dough options and tzatziki sauce. I opted for ease this week and this pizza came together quite fast. I picked up the plain dough from Traitor Joe’s and their tzatziki sauce too. You can certainly make both of these things on your own if you’d like. Other ingredients for this pizza: spinach leaves, marinated artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, feta cheese, and mizithra cheese. This is a nice vegetarian option sure to please many palates.

20140403-081218.jpg

20140403-081233.jpgI lightly brushed the dough with olive oil. I’m learning that this helps keep the crust from getting soggy with the toppings, which is especially important when using a yogurt based sauce. I put a healthy amount of tzatziki on next… yogurt has the tendency to evaporate a little when you bake it. I added baby spinach leaves, pitted kalamata olives, and marinated artichokes. Finally, I added feta cheese and a small amount of grated mizithra cheese. Mizithra is a traditional, hard Greek cheese that grates like a dream.

20140403-081250.jpg

20140403-081311.jpg

Although the Traitor Joe’s instructions said to bake the pizza at 350 degrees, I turned my oven up to 400 and let it cook for about 15 minutes. Feta cheese doesn’t really melt, but once the feta starts becoming slightly brown, it’s a good time to pull the pizza.

20140403-081338.jpg

20140403-081348.jpgThe flavors translated well for this pizza. The tzatziki made for a righteously delicious base. If you love feta, you will also love this pizza. The spinach leaves, artichokes, and kalamata olives dried up a bit in the oven. You could also make individual sized pizzas with pita crusts for a fun variation. I may try a similar version of this pizza with hummus for the sauce. If you like Greek flavors or just want an easy, fun pizza to make, give this recipe a shot. Oopa!

20140403-081355.jpg

Pizza and blessings,

Sarah

 

 

Leave a Reply

