Week 1: St. Patty’s Pizza

Well, the first week of this pizza challenge happened to fall on the week of St. Patrick’s Day. I figured it was only right to create a pizza inspired by green beer, traditional Irish flavors, and perfect for anyone fighting a post-Patty’s day hangover. I present . . . a corned beef and cabbage pizza on a honey beer crust.

I used this recipe for the beer crust. I opted for Nebraska Brewing Co’s IPA in my crust, and I could certainly taste the hops in the dough. After letting the crust rise for about an hour, I was astounded at how strong the beer smelled! Confession: I don’t own a rolling pin or a pizza pan yet. So, until I make that purchase, my pizzas will be misshapen squares.

I lucked out with this pizza because my parents let me have some of their left over corned beef and cabbage. While I don’t think I would go out of my way to make corned beef and cabbage for this pizza specifically, it’s a great way to utilize leftovers. I topped the crust with a light layer of olive oil, then shredded the cabbage and corned beef. I finished it off with some mozzarella and baked it for 12 minutes in the oven at 500 degrees.

I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by the results! I didn’t mind there being no sauce on the pizza because the corned beef and cabbage have such strong flavor profiles. By far my favorite part of the pizza was the beer crust! I could absolutely taste the IPA flavor and it was delightfully crispy and airy. I plan to use the recipe again. Coincidentally, this pizza pairs well with a nice wheat bear to cut across the bitter hops in the crust. You could probably dip it in a horseradish sauce if you are into that sort of thing.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Here’s hoping your St. Patrick’s Day was eventful, whether you were on Beale Street or O Street.

Pizza and blessings,

Sarah

Currently spinning: Caroline Smith – “Half About Being A Woman”

2 responses to “Week 1: St. Patty’s Pizza

Leave a Reply

